top of page

There's a Million Things I Haven't Done, Just You Wait

In class we talked about what constitutes a good life…. or a happy life… or a useful life… They all kind of overlapped, but I guess it’s also unique to everyone. It’s not as simple as The Sims, where you just tell them to like watch TV for three hours and their happiness meter goes up. I mean, I can watch Netflix for three hours, but that doesn’t mean all my problems will be magically solved. To me, life is about accomplishing your goals and surrounding yourself with people that make you a better person.

That being said, I should have some more specific goals than “being employed” and “staying alive.” The problem is, I really don’t know quite what job I want yet. I mean, I know what field I want to be in, but not the specific job. I guess that’s what college is for… huh, what a revelation. I mean, don’t get me wrong. I want more than a job that relies on tips and living at my parents house. It’s just that I want to live first before I decide what I want to do for the rest of my life. Sometimes I think I want to live in New York City working for a television show in some capacity. Sometimes I think I’d like to be involved in making movies. Sometimes I want to keep it small and visit local places making documentaries. I do know that I don’t want a regular 9:00 to 5:00 job. I want to constantly be working on different projects, but I want to have a secure income at the same time. I want to move to a city, but I want to support my parents when they get older too.

Well, what the hey. I’m just going to fanfiction my future life:

I wake up to an awesome husband. We’re very in love. Obviously. He likes dogs and can open pickle jars. We live in an apartment in New York City where you can hear the cars go by and smell tacos all the time. I head off to work where I’m doing some research for a documentary. It’s going to bring to light some issue (like the perils of bloggers being too generic) and help advocate change. Later my husband and I go out with some friends to see a play. We eat at some diner that we eat at all the time (yes, like Seinfeld). At night, I call my dad because we’re still super close, and then I bake a cake for my friend’s baby shower (she’s having a girl and she’s naming it after me). Then I go to sleep peaceful and content...

Three things I can do to achieve my goals:

  1. Get involved with Buc News on campus (literally next semester)

  2. Set aside time to write and create instead of wasting all my off-time doing things that I’m not passionate about (so that I can have actual proof that I know what I’m doing when I go to job interviews)

  3. Stop procrastinating, make sure all the work that I do right now will benefit me in the future because I can’t burn four years of my life without taking advantage of my resources

bottom of page