top of page

Why Do You Write Like You're Running Out of Time?

(Shout-out to my roommate for the on-point title suggestion.)

Last week I went to see The Diary of Anne Frank at The Bud Frank Theatre, and it was amazing. The set was incredible. The costumes were great. The acting was intense and crazy good. It did justice to Anne Frank’s memory.

Every time I watch or hear about The Diary of Anne Frank, I just cannot comprehend what it must have been like to live in such a time. I admire the incredible bravery of their friends who helped them stay in hiding. I admire all the people living in the attic for their strength and ability to keep going. I admire Anne Frank for her positivity and her belief that “people are truly good at heart.” The play does such a wonderful job of drawing out the long, cramped days, and yet highlighting the strengths and weaknesses of the characters with the choices they must make. I never like Mrs. Van Daan at first, but the scene where her husband sells her coat always makes me incredibly sad. It’s the last memory of her father, and I cannot fathom what it would feel like to have not only your way of life but your memories ripped away too.

The impact of Anne’s diary still survives today. It’s amazing that her writing has lasted throughout all these years and touched so many people. She changed the world, even if she didn’t live to see it. In her writing she is youthful and yet wiser than she should ever have had to be. Every time her name is mentioned, it reminds me of the power of words. Writing kept her sane. Writing revealed who she truly was. Writing was her gift to a world that stole so much from her. She is immortalized in history, and hopefully with her help, we can learn from our mistakes.

bottom of page