top of page

Número Uno: The Challenge Demands Satisfaction

(I know that title was a stretch, but I have a theme to keep up here okay? What do chefs say? It's 80% presentation. Yup.)

Hola, mis amigos. Me llamo Sydney…

For my project this semester I chose to learn Spanish using Duolingo. I’d started an account way back in sophomore year of high school but never kept up with it. My goal this semester was to complete a lesson every day, or if not that, at least every other day. I started at 14% fluency, so I am hoping to reach 100% by the New Year.

I’ve done an okay job of keeping up with it so far, but I could do better. I’ll be honest, I completely forget about it, and then I have to do some serious catching up. The plus side is that I enjoy learning a new language, so I often log into Duolingo to put off doing something else…

Anyway, I chose to learn Spanish because it is something that I always meant to keep up with when I was required to take it in high school. I am pursuing a BA, so I won’t have to take any foreign language in college, but it is a great way to exercise your mind and develop an appreciation for other cultures. I think there’s an interesting challenge with learning a new language because you run into roadblocks when trying to express yourself and then have to adapt to overcome it. You appreciate language more and realize how complex it really is.

I think at the end I'm going to ask my parents to drop me in Mexico with nothing but $50 and see if I can make it back successfully... I would fail though because I'd spend all the money on food.

bottom of page